The Framework

The Framework is structured around four progressive levels of university teaching achievement. Level 1 – ‘the effective teacher’ – represents a threshold of teaching achievement which all academics should attain. Level 4 – ‘the national and global leader in teaching and learning’ – is likely to be reserved for those progressing to full professorships solely or predominantly on the basis of their teaching achievement.

Stacks Image 4919355

For each of the four levels of teaching achievement, the Framework addresses the following three questions:

what is the academic's sphere of impact?

what promotion criteria define the academic's achievements in teaching and learning?

what forms of evidence can be used to demonstrate the academic's teaching achievement?

Sphere of impact

The Framework is structured around four levels which can be characterised in terms of the academic's sphere of impact in teaching and learning. As the academic progresses through the Framework's levels, this sphere of impact progressively expands.

Promotion criteria

Promotion criteria are provided to define the academic's achievements in teaching and learning at each level of the Framework. These criteria are cumulative, with achievement at a higher level expected to be in addition to continuing achievement at lower levels.

Forms of evidence

Different forms of evidence that can be used to demonstrate university teaching achievement are outlined. Guidance is provided on the blend of evidence sources that can be used at each Framework level and how this evidence can be collected and presented.

Career Framework for University Teaching, 2024